Reviewing ‘Delia’s Shadow’, hitting the books, and hanging out in a hospital

Jaime Lee Moyer's 'Delia's Shadow''

Image: Tor.com

I cannot believe it’s been a month since my last post; it’s definitely been a busy summer! Along the way, I’ve traveled to Charleston, SC, Anniston, AL, and twice to my hometown (also in AL). Right now, I’m at home playing nursemaid to my father-in-law as he recuperates from surgery.  It’s a challenge; I am definitely not Florence Nightingale. The other big news of the past two months is that I’ve been furiously preparing for the certification exam of the American Grant Writers’ Association. Along the way, I’ve still found time to read a ton of books, one of which I’ve just reviewed over on Mind Of The Geek. Delia’s Shadow, a debut novel by Jaime Lee Moyer coming out on September 17th, is a haunting and tense blend of paranormal and historical fiction. Check out the full review over on Mind Of The Geek.

Here’s a sneak peek at some of the other books I’ve read and will be reviewing in the near future:

Deadbeat–Makes You Stronger by Guy Adams

Image: guyadamsauthor.com

Max Jackson and Tom Harris are just a couple of old theater guys that operate a nightclub. After a night on the town, they spot a body being carried away in a coffin, but its occupant was still alive. Why would someone want to bury a living woman? Tom and Max hop on the case in this riotously funny detective story. Released on May 31, 2013. Look for the full review next month.

Transpecial, by Jennifer Povey

Cover of Jennifer Povey's 'Transpecial'

Image: musapublishing.com

Humanity makes contact with aliens so different from ourselves that we can only react with rage and revulsion. War breaks out and it takes the special skills of an autistic linguist from a Martian colony and the aid of a empathetic alien negotiator to bridge the gap. Will she be able to save humanity before it’s too late? Released on April 25, 2013. Look for my review next week on Mind Of The Geek!

Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl, by David Barnett

Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl_David Barnett_cover

Image: Tor.com

I’m working on this one right now.  Coming out on September 10th, the book is a steampunk fable of story of a young man in an alternate version of 1890. He sets off on a quest for help from the brave hero of the Empire, Captain Lucian Trigger, whose exploits are detailed in the penny dreadfuls of the era. Along the way he experiences a series of adventures that teach him not to believe everything he reads… Look for my review on Mind Of The Geek in early September!

