Thoughts on requiring science fiction in school reading curriculum

The perfect image to suggest a child being captivated by science and technology! Check out this beautiful website!

Amid all the Boston bombing-related news on Friday, news also broke of a West Virginia legislator who proposed legislation requiring adding science fiction content to existing compulsory middle and high school reading requirements. Many folks, including myself, thought that was a pretty interesting concept and I wrote it up in a post for Mind of the Geek here.

I think it’s a pretty good idea. It seems logical that if you excite kids about math and science, they’ll want to learn more about it. If you combine that with ideas about applying them to their everyday (or future) lives, it strengthens the likelihood that they’ll consider pursuing math or science in their careers.

Read the article for details and let me know what you think! What books would you suggest? I know I’d vote for Orwell’s 1984, Bradbury’s Fahrenheight 451, and Huxley’s Brave New World. Definitely some Ursula K. LeGuin works too; I think her anthropological perspective is invaluable to combating teenage self-absorption!

